AAUW- ND Annual Meeting April 14, 2012 Jamestown College, Jamestown, ND

Prior to the start of the meeting, Betsy McDowell, National Board member-at-large from Oregon gave an overview of AAUW and what it has to offer to our members.

The meeting was called to order by President Julie Garrett. Secretary Debbie Alber called roll. Branches present were Bismarck, Fargo-Moorhead, Jamestown, Mayville-Hillsboro, Grand Forks, and Dickinson.

President Julie presented awards to the branches as follows:

Prairie Rose Branch Recognition: Devils Lake and Jamestown

ND AAUW Awards: Wahpeton, Devils Lake, Dickinson, Grand Forks, Fargo, Jamestown and Mayville-Portland.

Deb Alber read the secretaries report. A motion was made to approve the minutes as read. Paul Robinette (M) Peterson (2nd) Motion passed.

Deb Alber read the treasurer's report in Simone Sandberg's absence. It was filed.

Naomi Thorson gave an overview of her report on membership. It was filed. She felt that she would like more direction from the board and branches on what they want to see from the membership chairperson. It was suggested that we should try to get more university/college involvement.

Vetta Syverson gave an overview of her report on AAUW Funds. It was filed.

Peterson stated that all branches will need to update their by-laws and they must be returned to her in a timely fashion. She then reviewed the revised By-Laws.

A motion as made that Article 15 Meeting of the Membership, Section 4 Letter D should read: A majority of the members entitled to vote shall constitute a quorum. Maureen Kelly Jonason (M) Bobbie Shreve (2nd) Motion passed.

A motion was made that Article 15 Meeting of the Membership, Section 4 Letter F should read: The vote shall be conducted under the supervision of the President. Naomi Thorson (M) Arlys Netland (2nd) Motion passed.

A motion was made that Article 15 Meeting of the Membership, Section 5 Quorum should read: The quorum shall be a majority of the members entitled to vote. Deb Greenwood (M) Paul Robinette (2nd) Motion passed.

A motion was made to accept the By-Laws as now written. Muriel Peterson (M) Maureen Kelly Jonason (2nd) Motion passed.

Muriel Peterson now reviewed the changes to the Standing Rules. A motion was made to move the section on Public Policy Chair from the Duties of the Officers section to the Duties of Appointed Officers section. Maureen Kelly Jonason (M) Vetta Syverson (2nd) Motion passed.

A motion was made that point 6 under Public Policy Chair should be changed to read: Register as a lobbyist or designate someone to register as a lobbyist and be responsible for working with the legislature, representing AAUW's position to state and federal legislators. Maureen Kelly Jonason (M) Bobbie Shreve (2nd) Motion passed.

A motion was made to approve the standing rules as currently amended. Muriel Peterson (M) Arlys Netland (2^{nd}) Motion passed.

Deb Alber reported that the website is now functional and worked great for the conference registrations. Pay pal also worked well for getting payment. It was fast and easy. She suggests that we continue to build the site and make it help us with our work.

Deb Alber also reported on the 2011-12 Impact Grant and that we have now fulfilled the requirements of the grant by holding the Voter Turnout Training at the conference. She is excited about the potential for getting more young women involved in voting for ND and encourages all branches to be active in this respect. We are on target to receive another grant in 2012-13 to continue this project.

Julie called for Old Business, hearing none she moved on to New Business.

Julie reported that she sent out 186 ballots to the membership and only had four returned due to incorrect addresses. She was able to correct them and mail them as well. Vetta Syverson reported that 121 ballots were returned. Debbie Alber will be our new Program Vice President and Jessica Haak is our new secretary. Maureen Kelly Jonason will be installed as president.

Paul Robinette invited all to attend the 2013 conference in Grand Forks. He hopes that we will continue with an annual meeting for all branches and that it gives them an opportunity to participate in activities outside their branch. Debbie Alber reported that the conference is a lot of work and for the past several years basically the board has only attended. She suggested that the time would be better spent doing an overnight retreat for the board for a more detailed two year plan of action for state leadership. This was tabled until our summer board meeting.

The incoming president will schedule the summer board meeting as stated in the by-laws with input from the board.

Visiting National board member at large, Betsy McDowell, installed Maureen Kelly Jonason as incoming president, Jessica Haak (absent) as incoming secretary and Debbie Alber as incoming program Vice President.

President Julie then presented a thank you to Muriel Peterson for all of her hard work on the By-Laws and Standing Rules. Julie read a letter reviewing her past four years of office and all of the accomplishments of the AAUW – ND. She also presented tokens of appreciation to the board members who have served with her.

The meeting was adjourned. Debbie Alber, Secretary